Marginal

Well the final signal came and what a mental ride. It could also have been heartbreak or joy for TUFXP users, depending on whether they use a 30 SL or 35. I’ve stuck with 35 as CM switched to 30 for no reason other than ”most trades go to 35, so I’ll save 5.” If you’re going to do something, make sure you research it and test it, I think that’s two trades in the space of a week where a 35 SL has been the difference between a win and a loss or in other terms a difference of 100 pips!!

Mike raised a good point on Skype about how this trade would appear in backtesting. When it triggered, the PSAR and MA were both showing green making it a valid trade. But a monster reversal candle proceeded and the PSAR switched to red as did the MA before the MA finally turned green again. So despite nearly stopping out, a successful trade and a +26 result on the day after spread making it a slightly better day than usual. It’s still been a mediocre month but I’m sure plenty of good days lie ahead.

I’ve got so much going on in my head, it’s hard sometimes to slow down and not think about trading, I have ideas popping out of my head and the eagerness to succeed is almost overwhelming at times. I’m trying my best to keep grounded and focus on one day at a time and let the good trades come to me instead of me chasing them. Apologies if this blog has turned into a purely TUFXP one, I’ll try and diversify in the next few weeks.

    • Mitch
    • June 23rd, 2010

    Morning from sunny UK 🙂 I am trialling TUFXP2 (1st week) and noted the comment about Skype – do you have a trading room running ? I would be very interested in joining in if possible.

    Mitch

    • Gerry Hughes
    • June 23rd, 2010

    Hi – Using 35 sl do you use this if the software shows say 12 like this mornings first trade or always 35

    • Hi Gerry,

      No, I use the 100% stop and limit the max stop to 35. So the first trade was a loss of 14 pips after spread for me so I took the next two trades as per rules.

    • marco
    • June 23rd, 2010

    John,
    IF thats 35+spread that could take 4 losing days to overcome one losing day.The GG method kept me out of all losing trades on monday and gave me +20 yesterday and +22 this morning.The trails have not been so generous this week.
    I love your idea on the previous post about trading the reverse as i think it could be very profitable ,especially with a 1.1 ratio.
    What would be great if some kind of system and critera could be put around it so we would know which trades to take.

    • marco
    • June 23rd, 2010

    Sorry John, my mistake i totally understand now what you are doing by using the 100% rule and the 35 max stop

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

